11th Grade Theology: Foundations of Catholic Morality

Foundations of Catholic Morality focuses on the essential message of Christ's moral teaching, the importance of love of God and neighbor. The course covers the major points from the "Life in Christ" section of the Catechism of the Catholic Church, pulling together these elements by developing nine essential steps for living a Christian moral life in the Catholic tradition. These steps include:

  1. Understanding the nature of being human.
  2. Guiding moral decision-making with intellect.
  3. Understanding the law's relationship to freedom and being responsible for transgressions.
  4. Imitating Jesus and living the Beatitudes.
  5. Forming the conscience and strengthening resistance to peer pressure.
  6. Repenting and forgiving others.
  7. Thanking God for life by loving God above all else.
  8. Loving yourself.
  9. Loving your neighbors.